BC Liberals Win Election, STV Defeated

By Greg Farries on May 13, 2009

It looks like British Columbian's have given the Gordon Campbell Liberal party a third straight mandate to govern.

B.C. Liberal Leader Gordon Campbell has won an historic third straight term as the province's premier. Preliminary results in Tuesday's B.C. election show Campbell's Liberals leading with 45.7 per cent of the popular vote, ahead of Carole James's NDP at 42.2 per cent.

By 1:30 a.m. PT Wednesday, when initial count was suspended, the Liberals were elected in 49 ridings while the NDP were elected in 36, according to preliminary election results posted on Elections BC's website.

The referendum on changing British Columbia's electoral system was also decided:

British Columbians also voted not to change the way they elect future provincial governments to the legislative assembly in Victoria. Less than 40 per cent of voters supported the proposed BC-STV system in the referendum on electoral reform. The referendum required more than 60 per cent support for the proposed system to be adopted.

Seeing that this is the second time electoral reform has failed to capture the hearts of voters in British Columbia - is this the end of the electoral reform movement in British Columbia?

Syndicate content